Skip to main content

Educational Leaders Elected to 1EdTech Board of Directors

Board members are leaders in the 1EdTech mission to power learner potential


LAKE MARY, Fla., January 19, 2023 — 1EdTech (formerly IMS Global) added eight new directors for 2023 and re-elected one incumbent via its annual member board election process.

1EdTech is the world’s leading non-profit collaboration dedicated to powering learner potential by fostering an open, trusted, and innovative edtech ecosystem with more than 870 members worldwide, representing K-12, higher education, corporate learning, and edtech suppliers.

The recently elected board members are: 

  • Dr. Gwendolyn Britton, Vice President, Product Strategy, Southern New Hampshire University
  • Annie Chechitelli, Chief Product Officer, Turnitin
  • Jim Chilton, EVP, Chief Technology Officer & GM INFOSEC, Cengage
  • Dr. Christopher Davis, VP of Academic Services and Quality, University of Maryland, Global Campus
  • Sarah DeMark, VP, Workforce Intelligence & Credential Integrity, Western Governors University
  • Jeff McCoy, Associate Superintendent, Academics, Greenville County Schools
  • Marc Nelson, VP of Platform Product Management, Savvas
  • Dr. Shana Rafalski, Chief of Staff, Clark County School District
  • Darlene Rankin, M.Ed., Director, Instructional Technology, Katy ISD

The new members will join more than a dozen others from educational institutions, supplier organizations, nonprofits, and industry to oversee the business of 1EdTech and provide leadership on behalf of all members.

Paul Czarapata, president of the Kentucky Community and Technical College System, will be the 1EdTech board chair for 2023. Melissa Loble, chief customer experience officer at Instructure, will be the board vice-chair for 2023. Dr. Vince Kellen, chief information officer of the University of California San Diego; Dr. LaTanya McDade, superintendent of Prince William County Public Schools; and Serena Sacks-Mandel, global chief technology officer at Microsoft, have been added to the 1EdTech board executive committee in 2023.

Jack Suess, CIO for the University of Maryland Baltimore County, and Donna Kidwell, chief information security and digital trust officer for Arizona State University, will step down from the board after years of dedicated service.

“I want to thank Jack and Donna for their hard work in helping us build 1EdTech to what it is today,” said Czarapata. “I’m grateful they will continue to help us move this work forward as Contributing Members, and I look forward to working with our new board members who will bring new ideas and perspectives to our work.” 

1EdTech’s board comprises representatives from seven K-12 institutions, seven higher education institutions, and ten supplier organizations. 

“Our board members are very special people from very special organizations that are actively leading the creation and adoption of the open and trusted edtech ecosystem that lowers the barriers to innovation and increases opportunities for all learners at all levels,” said Dr. Rob Abel, CEO of the 1EdTech Consortium. “The leadership from our board and our Contributing Members are having a profound impact on educational institutions' ability to accelerate and scale both strategic and operational innovation.”


About 1EdTech
1EdTech is a member-based non-profit community partnership of leading educational providers at all levels, government organizations, and edtech suppliers working together to enable better digital teaching and learning. This unique collaboration establishes the connectivity that accelerates an open, innovative, and trusted education ecosystem in which products work together to enable better learning. Together, we power learner potential. 1EdTech hosts the annual Learning Impact conference and other engagement opportunities to advance the leadership and ideas that shape the future of learning. 1EdTech is supported by an affiliated public charity, the 1EdTech Foundation, that puts philanthropic funds to work for our cause. Visit our website at


Help us improve the accessibility of this site by emailing recommendations to